I’s Path – poem from “Ebbo: Offering”

I’S PATH

It is a tree
A leaf
A shining peace
Of glass

Grass
It is the grass

Comfort me
Hold me in your embrace

Sun
Sun-light –
Shafts of it

Obliquely
You fall
Upon my face

Caress me
Alone
am I

Voyager on a road
Without
End.

Click

A moment in the mind’s eye

Caught in the glass
Hugging the grass
Loving the trees

The road
On it extends
On it extends
Without
End.

I must
not turn back

            Don’t think of all that has been traversed

The dirt
The dirt

         Cutting peaces of place –

                           And a pie

                                    Pie square 2

                                    Pie in your I

A lonely I am I

I am afraid to look back

                                 It weighs way too much

Sun/Son

Slant your life upon me now
Sear me in your heat
Erase me in your flames

                          Incinerate me

Brittle leaf that I am

And still the road goes ever on

Rocky cliffs

            Sharp inclines

                        No space for remorse

                                    No place for love.

Merciless driver that it is
Whip on my hide

                        Onward
I go

                                    Onward
2 I

And I
dissolves with the winds

            I
blow away like a leaf

                        I
blows away on the breeze

                                    Following the sun/son

To the place beyond paths
To the land beyond Is
To the abode of the winds
That ever run through my lives

Blowing on my path
Bring up the dirt

Coating
Me and my trees

With glassy
Grains
Beyond time.

Skye Stephenson – EBBO (Carnelian Press, 2011)

Leave a Reply

